Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Skirmisher Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories
Wizard Theory
Wizard Theory
$10.00 $7.00











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #45: Mutant Dinosaurs
by Wilfredo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2018 09:49:20

Skirmisher specializes in inventive ideas to be applied in various settings, and dinosaurs in a pos-atomic setting is certainly one of the oddest- yet also one of the most interesting. But the ideas in the book go beyond the obvious; anyone could think about, say, a fire-breathing T-Rex, but here we have, to give but one example, a stegosaurus that turns into a subterrarean predator at night! Also, every single creature includes examples of how they fit in with humans and other creatures in the post-apocalyptic environment.

In addition, as usual for Skirmisher books, there are also a few new optional rules, such as a "chaos" effect that warps reality in crazy ways, and advice on using them in a game.

This is my favorite Skirmisher product so far this year. Highly recommended, and not just for Post-Apoc games- its a great source of ideas for Super Heroes or Anime, for example.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #45: Mutant Dinosaurs
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Moat Monsters: A Sourcebook for OGL RPGs
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2018 07:12:50

Pretty good sourcebook for the price, great stat write ups for hazards, natural plants, and hired monsters to swim your defensive moat. Would have liked more passive defenses and traps, but this is dedicated to the monsters. Love Black Blocks and Pink Pike is disturbing. I never knew I needed to consider the moat until now, but also a great source for water hazards on a dungeon map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Moat Monsters: A Sourcebook for OGL RPGs
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Moat Monsters: A Sourcebook for OGL RPGs
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 19:39:54

These are pretty inventive. The intro actually had a ton of ideas for moats, too. If you have a castle, you'll want this book. In fact, I am playing an adventure with my future headquarters on an island. I think I'll surround it with some of these goodies!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Earth Dog (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2018 13:09:05

OMG! I want one! I wouldn't even use it to guard anything, except my kids. I just want one for a character companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Earth Dog (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2018 18:08:54
2 made me laugh out! Some were funny, some were so thoughtful they could be used as spinoffs for entire adventures, and some were pure genius. I like all the 100 Oddities, but this one is my favorite. Great job, Skirmisher!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

100 Oddities for a Thieves' Guild
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 15:37:52

Fun read, made me look over my shoulder more than once.

I'd love to see maps with some of these items from the Oddities, a dark guildhall, with a few alcoves of suspicious items or even people. This works real well if you have players willing to skirt around the laws of your setting and interested in testing their skills against other thieves in a great place filled with these oddities. Fun flavor but I wanted to see more of the fun illustrations of William Thrasher.

Stolen Pie Chart, a must buy for this alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Thieves' Guild
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 15:05:52

Another interesting 100 Oddities. Well researched and imagined, a good deal of things that could also be illusions created by a spell or the environment of a pyramid or tomb, the original mazes. Hilarious and terrifying illustrations of encounterable creatures and situations. Some interesting eqyptian flare equipment as well.

Im kind of in love with #30, but #00 is the basis for a complete adventure I'd like to see a write up for.

Mummy Table is on point as well, and I like the Scarab Tokens mechanic, wish there was a little more divine interference, never call upon a God in a space dedicated to another.

Great price for these, keep em comin'



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 13:35:32

I'm a solid fan of the '100 Oddities' line of prodcuts and this one is no different. This time the people at Skimisher Publishing delve into lost desert tombs and dig up all sorts of odd things. There is a wide variey of Oddities from enchanted canopic jars to a depressed and deeply flaws sphynx.

As always, the idea is to help GM's create points of interest in their campaign. What I really like with this one is many of the Oddities can really be expanded upon beyond a single interaction. Some could generate several sessions of fun. Some can be used as the keystone for entire adventures.

That's the best feature of the '100 Oddities' line... creative ideas.

While the Egyptian astetic isn't one I usualy use, I can certainly glean some fun ideas from this product.

Well worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Reflections on Lovecraft (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2018 11:50:11

Oooo, you guys. This short but useful supplement is a great adaptation and discussion of the works of H.P. Lovecraft, transforming some of his lesser known creations into interesting encounters, spells, and feats. Great conversions, really interesting choices, and a breakdown by the authors of why they chose these elements and how they came to the results. I had never thought about how the Terrible Old Man had dispatched his would be robbers, but really interesting twist that could be the seed for a one off or something to use in your game if the players anger the wrong person. And who doesn't love a Cat Swarm? Worth the price alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Reflections on Lovecraft (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 17:36:39

This is a really beautiful and detailed map. Since I play in a Kos setting I was going to use this to help me navigate my surroundings. However, I am also going to print one out and get it framed. It's that cool!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Dinner Party
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 19:23:21

I can't believe I've never read anything like this before. An adventuring party with some free time goes to dinner. What would they talk about? What would they eat? This was funny as it was informative. Reading about this dinner party made them seem very real. The author did a great job with this story and I look forward to reading more by him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinner Party
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Brown Dragon (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 15:17:15

I love dragons and the Brown might be my new favorite. How can you not love a very social dragon that wants to rule and traces back it's lineage to the primordial serpents as a matter of pride. They even want to be seen as fair by their subjects, but are Lawful Evil. They must be a riot to Game Master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brown Dragon (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Forgotten Children (Five Heroic Characters for BASH)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 17:27:49

These are some extremely detailed characters and strangely realistic. You can almost imagine them in real life, except for the superpowers, of course. They seem fairly balanced as a team with some fantastic possibilities for roleplaying, inter-team dynamics and some really funny, witty back-and-forth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Forgotten Children (Five Heroic Characters for BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

100 Oddities for a Found Car
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2018 16:03:23

I've recently gotten into the Oddities books. Are they all this good? One entry will have you laughing your butt off and then next one is so weird and off the wall you kind of want to wash your hands and forget you read it. This is definately Game Master gold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Found Car
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Kinder (Four Villainous Characters for BASH)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 13:19:40

This is a really great concept for villian generation. I love them, especially Darklord. DARKLORD!!! Thank you to the BASH superhero roleplaying game people for publishing these four villians. I'm always curious after seeing a character in action in a video or something to see it's official stats. So thanks again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Kinder (Four Villainous Characters for BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 372 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG